top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenee Munro

Week 2: Starting Off Lost and Still Relaxed

Updated: Aug 6, 2023

Week 2: 24/07-30/07


Monday class: 24/07

  • The lecture from the sustainability stream was very interesting and I thoroughly enjoyed it. She had some great points and advice which I wrote down and want to keep in mind for the remainder of my project. Majority of the lecture will be difficult to apply to my project.

  • We were missing Mairi due to covid which was inconvenient as I missed the week ones classes and wanted to discuss the assignment with her. Obviously this was out of everyones control and just reminded me how flexible I need to be.

  • Roy took us to his computing lab and this was very useful. I was able to test out a VR headset and AR headset to get a better understanding of what each technological outcome would look like. This actually helped me to realise I need to be using VR. I was also able to get an understanding of key aspects included in VR like setting an area boundary if you are walking and being active.

  • I left still feeling quite lost on what to do for the assignments coming up so I dedicated my time to learning VR. I ensured I had the correct software downloaded and did tutorials to practice using the unity software. I soon realised how time consuming the VR crafting process will be and so I have made notes to ensure I give myself lots of time to work on this portion of the project.

  • I am enjoying the ongoing learning of VR

  • At this point in time I was not too stressed out about being behind and unsure of what I should be doing because I kept productive with the VR lessons.

Thursday class: 27/07

  • The Thursday session was helpful as it allowed me time to sit with my peers and do work and discuss ideas. I gained a better understanding of the assignments and what I was missing for assignment 2. I was also able to run my idea past Mairi and get her opinion on what my Miro board was missing. I did find our conversation could have been more direct and thus shorter so I can better utilise my time and this is something I will try to guide going further.

  • From this class session I was able to plan out the remaining tasks my board requires and set my week 3 tasks up with plenty of time.

Weekend: 28/07-30/07

  • This weekend after trying to learn VR more I decided that my original plan was too ambitions and I would not be able to create anything that met my scope well enough. After some brainstorming I came to the conclusion that VR, Depression, Maori youth and Maori Culture were the key aspects of my project I wanted to maintain and began brainstorming a project pathway from these themes.

  • This was a particularly difficult process as I didn’t have research to support idea generation. I only realised this upon reflection that I should of researched my key themes more to support the brainstorming process.

  • I did decide on utilising the practice of Rakau, the tossing of wooden sticks, to connect the user to Maori culture through a VR game in an effort to reduce depressive symptoms.

  • Further research has be scheduled to be conducted to properly understand the practice ignorer to implement it correctly.

  • Again, changing my idea caused my no stress even though it created more work for myself. I am attributing this to my excitement and interest in the new idea which I am hoping will be maintained throughout the remainder of the project to help motivate me through the more difficult weeks.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 11 - The report

This week has been about the report draft that is due. It was quite difficult to wrote about as a lot of the stuff I need to write about is still unfinished. I also really struggled with how to discus

Week 8 and 9 Outcomes

Week 8 Mondays class was missed as I really needed the time to work on my project. Thursdays zoom class was really useful. The feedback given to me was to make a panoramic Video and use it as a skybox

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page