top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRenee Munro

Week 3: Nomad-er how much I tried, I couldn't stop sculpting

Updated: Aug 6, 2023

Week 3: 31/07-6/08

Monday Class: 31/07

  • Unfortunately I did missed the first 30 minutes of the week 3 lecture due to work which is unavoidable. From what I was present for I found very difficult to apply to our project situation and still don’t particularly understand what knowledge was being conveyed to the class in relation to assignments. This however is not a priority of mine and so I have not followed up with Mairi.

  • I continued to work on learning VR and have found a very helpful YouTube account and am slowly making progress on skill development. I am finding it hard to remember how to do everything despite being able to follow the instructions fairly clearly. As of right now I unsure how to combat this and it put me off lessons for the rest of the week.

  • I began 3D sculpting Rakau (sticks) using Nomad Sculpt. This sculpting process has been incredibly enjoyable and although challenging, I am not put off or find myself lacking interest. I am excited to develop these skills further for the project and see what kind of output I can produce. I find this software to be great for adding little details and the use of my iPad is making the creating process much easier and quicker.

Thursday Class: 3/08

  • Class was over zoom as Mairi was still sick. In this check in I was able to run my new idea past Mairi who fully supported it which made me feel more secure in the direction of my project. After this short check in I redefined my scope to match my new idea and outlines the project limitations. In this session I was able to finish the 6 key ingredients required for my Miro board.

  • After class Ethan and I went over each others Miro boards and gave each other some feedback as first time readers to help make sure we had everything included and it was clear to follow as an outsider. This was helpful as I had forgotten critical sections such as limitations. I think I will do this every week throughout the project to help maintain my timeline and incorporate feedback regularly.

Weekend: 4/08-6/08

  • The presentation and proposal finalisation is due this weekend and so this was my focus from Friday-Sunday. I feel really good about the direction of my project and am excited to fully focus all of my attention on it now. I still need to learn how to plan and organise my thoughts and design process in a functional way.

  • Towards the end of the week I began to realise that I was doing too much 3D sculpting and not enough work for the assignments. I really enjoy using Nomad Sculpt and felt like I was being productive so it was not a bad thing that I was dedicating so much time to it. In the future I need to curb my enjoyment and make sure I do the less interesting but required tasks and then come back to the sculpting if I have time. I found this weekend to be very stressful as I did not allow myself a comfortable about of time to finish off my assignment.

Comments or thoughts:

  • I keep forgetting to upload blog posts but I am writing things down as I do them to help keep track. I am worried this will be an ongoing issue and need to find a solution to help me maintain consistent detailed blog posts throughout the project. I may go to my peers or stream leader for advice.

  • I feel I may be underutilising my peers and stream leader and need to actively seek their help, advice and ideas more.


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Week 11 - The report

This week has been about the report draft that is due. It was quite difficult to wrote about as a lot of the stuff I need to write about is still unfinished. I also really struggled with how to discus

Week 8 and 9 Outcomes

Week 8 Mondays class was missed as I really needed the time to work on my project. Thursdays zoom class was really useful. The feedback given to me was to make a panoramic Video and use it as a skybox

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page